top of page

1765 Summer (End) (p6)

The king's silence has sealed our fates. I had hoped that a response, even one of outrage would be returned to us. Nothing has arrived and this late in the season...surely there are few things that lead to delay.


I was met with more death yesterday. Le Fevre buried a daughter; Du Monte buried a daughter and I....my own family has suffered some grief. My wife was stricken with illness while I was away. How horrible my children must think me to not return home. I can ill afford the return, so I must campaign onward. I must! If we do not gather help we shall all perish.


I have resigned myself to rely on the Marguis. I pray he is amiable to our last agreement. For his aid he may have fifty percent of the militia at his leisure after the creatures are dealt with. He shall also appoint the commander of the forces. To be chosen from the men that are put forth.


What a silly game. Of course he will elect Jean Chastel. They are like bosom friends. Chastel is believed to be his dog. Perhaps it would do to have the owner of such a large farm lead. I am bitter, yes. Not by Chastel's assumed appointment, I am bitter by my ineffectual powerless station!


If the beast is not removed quickly there may be no Gévaudan left to save...regardless of who leads our cavalry.


Here standing at the end of August and our current body count has bloomed in to near fifty. Perhaps I should call upon those that neighbor Gévaudan for aid as well. Merciful Lord guide my actions and keep my heart for I am weakened by time and made weary by our plight.


Amen


Recent Posts

See All

1765 Autumn

Our scouting party has mounted up and is preparing to head out into the forest on the morrow. My Odette has raised her concerns as well...

1765 Autumn

As foreseen the Marquis has elected Jean Chastel however much this pains me I must abide. My darling wife Antoinette has recovered under...

Comments


bottom of page