top of page

1765 Spring One week later

One week has come and gone along with my summit. The Marquis questioned if this group would appose the king or support any one who does. What a queer question to ask during such a time. I am glad I affirmed in my own heart the true meaning of this group. We are the defenders of Gévaudan not the lackeys of the king or his court games. I informed him the group would not interfere with matters of court and the sole function is to protect Gévaudan.

This answer seemed to appease him for now anyway. The men that attended did not wish to appear treacherous and vowed to join once the king had given its existence credence. Sadly lives are at stake. I have sent a missive, but I cannot wait for a king to authorize what I feel in my heart to be God's plan for me.

I have resigned myself to starting with half of the number that attended, for I know the king will hesitate if not outright condemn this group. He sits comfortably in his estate after all, unbidden by the wolf kin that feast on our young. Why should he care about the matters of Gévaudan?

Recent Posts

See All

1765 Spring

Our living population dwindles while our necropolis booms. Our death toll now looms at forty. Even with the births and visitors—the...

1764 Winter's End (p3)

there have been more attacks reported. I Baron Chapelle have the arduous task of reporting to the king at court that my home, Gévaudan is...

1764 Winter (p2)

It has been several months since The King's Rifleman Francois Antoine made for Paris with his gift of the beast. He enjoys his riches and...

Commentaires


bottom of page