top of page

1764 Winter (p2)

It has been several months since The King's Rifleman Francois Antoine made for Paris with his gift of the beast. He enjoys his riches and titles I'm sure - while good, honest folk wrestle with famine and grief.

If it were not for some lucky business decisions on my part, my family would be at the mercy of the Marquis d' Apichre. While he is a goodly man, I am not eager to offer him more sway over my own life or finances.


1764 Winter Dec 2

My neighbor confided in me some troubling news. Today his sons were attacked! They survived as the older boy of nearly thirteen fough to save his younger brother. I shall journey out to meet with those brave sons and offer counsel to the family. My own family is eager to know if this means the beast was not killed after all. I say to them I will investigate for the King sent us no lout! That Francois Antoine is the king's own rifleman and would not miss nor would he claim a kill that was not his.

Perhaps the boys were instead attacked by a rabid dog, made homeless by this senseless war effort our king is failing to win.

Recent Posts

See All

1765 Spring One week later

One week has come and gone along with my summit. The Marquis questioned if this group would appose the king or support any one who does....

1765 Spring

Our living population dwindles while our necropolis booms. Our death toll now looms at forty. Even with the births and visitors—the...

1764 Winter's End (p3)

there have been more attacks reported. I Baron Chapelle have the arduous task of reporting to the king at court that my home, Gévaudan is...

Comments


bottom of page